Who are we?

The Association of Technical Staff in Psychology is a network of dedicated Psychology Staff and Technicians, currently with over 60 members from institutions across the UK and Ireland. We share knowledge, resources and best practice from our areas of expertise; both on our dedicated members forum and in person at our annual conference – held at a different university every year.

We have strong links with the BPS, where we work closely to inform good working practices and ensure technicians are at the forefront of knowledge and policy development, as well as being recognised in the BPS awards. In addition, many members are part of the technician commitment, which is dedicated to improving the visibility, recognition, career development and sustainability of technicians across the sector. In addition, ATSiP members were at the forefront of working towards becoming the first technicians to be awarded the title of registered science technician (RSciTech), a new award conferred by the Science Council.

The Committee

  • Richard Weatherall
    Richard Weatherall


  • Wakefield Morys-Carter
    Wakefield Morys-Carter

    Treasurer and Membership Secretary

  • Sam Royle


  • Neil Carter

    Conference Co-Coordinator

  • Sean Rooney

    BPS Liaison Officer

Regional Reps

  • Yiannis Argyropoulos


  • Martyn Atkins

    South West England

  • Joe Rennie-Tayor

    South East England

Check Out The National Campaign For Highlighting Technicians